Valuable memories

Happy Mother’s day! Just a day like any other. However, Obligations go to taking the mother out so we’ll be doing just that. Now I don’t know about everyone else but my mom hates getting useless things so, flowers, NOPE, useful things, YEP. She’d choose the 25 cent sponge from the corner liquor store over the $50.00 arrangement of roses. Given this mindset, there’s only two places to take her, lunch and thrift store. For those of you unfamiliar with the thrift store, let me break it down for you. Have you ever looked through your house and saw an item with a reaction “Why the heck did I buy this for?” and you didn’t know what to do with it? The proper place to dispose of it, is the thrift store. So other people can buy it and one day have the exact same reaction. Luckily, by buying it from the thrift store they, can justify their purchase and say: “But shit, it was 99 cents!”

I am uncertain why, but the section in this classy store that catches my attention the most is always the book section. There’s always editions of popular books like Twilight, Harry Potter, Dan Brown series, Donald Trump books(for some reason,) and many more. The variety is wide but I usually get my enjoyment from perusing and never purchasing.

Fun Fact: of all the things people hoard, It has been shown that one of the hardest things for people to get rid of in their home, is books. Many of these books contain pages with information that someone had dedicated their life to… and you can have that for just $1.99.

As I mentioned, I rarely every buy anything but this time, I couldn’t resist. I bought two of my favorite childhood books: Oh the Places You’ll Go!and Horton Hatches the Egg. Both by Dr. Seuss. If they had Green Eggs and Ham as well as The Star Bellied Sneeches, I would’ve snagged them all up and had my childhood rejuvenated.

The reason I bought these books, is not just based solely on the fact that they give me memorable pleasure, but, as I read them, (in the store, yeah I’m one of those people,) I realized that the lessons I take from them now were nothing like I had understood of them before. Dr. Seuss was one of those talented authors that often wrote stories that only adults could comprehend, but children still enjoyed. Very few people or companies are able to accomplish this. Two big ones off the top of my head are Disney and Legos. One of my favorite quotes from him is

The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” – Dr Seuss

What lessons do I take from this book?

  • You make your own decisions in life. You are responsible for yourself and nobody else. If you see something you do not like, you can always pivot directions.
  • Sometimes when you do new things, you’ll feel alone. You will see that people around you are successful and even if you are not there yet, consistency will get you there.
  • You’ll be able to see new things that you never expected and join the cream of the crop.
  • But that’s not all, if you keep going, you can surpass even the best of the best.
  • However, life doesn’t always go at planned and more often then not, you will fail.
  • When you fail, you’ll be in a slump and this is a part of life that will be hard to move out from. But when you do, you will become much more risk averse as you see all your options and feel scared to fail again.
  • So you join the masses of people who waste away their life by waiting instead of making things happen.
  • But you realize that’s not for you as you break out into the exciting unknown again.
  • Through this road you’ll face many scary things and as you push on, one of the biggest obstacles you’ll face, will always be yourself.
  • As long as you keep moving forward, you will move mountains.

Now, if you haven’t read it, I highly recommend it. It may be hard to believe that you can take these lessons from the book, but it’s there, I promise. I categorize it in Non-prose Motivational books. Change your thinking > change your actions > change your life.

 

IMG_20160507_192218

Leave a Reply

