I came for Toilet paper, how did I spend $200?

Today I went to target to get TWO items, some toilet paper and some cheesy hallmark cards to send out to clients. Who dictates the prices on these things because man, with a markup this high, one card sold covers all of Target’s overhead expense and costs of goods sold for month. Alright, that’s a slight exaggeration, but seriously, these things are not cheap. Although, they do throw in a free envelope with each card, so, at least you got that going for you. Just don’t grab the wrong envelope because these envelopes are not one size fits all and you don’t want to find yourself at home in rage, trying to jam your card that you just spent half of your life savings on, into this envelope that’s inches too small to receive it and you rip everything to shreds. Something I obviously have no experience with.

So, I would say that I am pretty good with my self control as I get the items I need and go straight to the cash register. In and out like a burger. While waiting in line, I strike up a conversation with the lady in front of me and she says, “Only a man can do that.” As she points to my card and toilet paper. My first thought was that she felt my 12 pack of toilet paper was not sufficient enough. Maybe I should’ve gotten the 36, or gone to costco and got the 300. Either way, I ask what she is talking about. She says “Only a man can come to the store and get just what he needs and leave. I just came to target to buy these paper plates for my 5 y/o sons birthday and now I have ice cream, cereal, these toy cars, balloons, streamers, etc etc. But I think I still did good. I didn’t buy everything I saw.” I laughed at her statement and joked that having only two tubs of ice cream is going to be an issue. These 5 year olds are going to scarf it down before she even gets a chance to put the rest of the groceries on the table.

Her comment reminded me of how powerful the advertising world is. Things that go unnoticed  guide our behaviors and has become a backbone to how most stores operate.

Lesson of the day, Gruen transfer: Named after Viktor Gruen, was an architect who designed the first shopping mall. This concept is the use of intentionally confusing layouts in stores to make the consumer forget what they were originally coming to the store to purchase.

Things that seem normal in our world now were once groundbreaking ideas. Stores were once extremely bland and there were a lack of displays within the store and window displays were nonexistent.

Here’s something else you may not have noticed. In Grocery stores, the exterior of the store contains all the perishable goods. On one side you have vegetables, fruits, the other side: meats, eggs, milk, all which have a timely expiration date. Now why do the stores do this? Vegetables and fruits are considered necessities and so are meats milk and eggs so, by placing them on opposite ends of the store, you will be forced to go from one end to the other. The purpose is so that you also go through the middle aisles which contain items you probably do not need. Then of course, when you get to the register, you’ll find some carefully chosen impulse buy items, don’t give in. Control yourself, you just came for toilet paper.

 

shut-up-and-take-my-money

Leave a Reply

