Come Swing with Me

Did something new today, Swing dacing. To be honest, I had no idea what swing was supposed to look like and now that class is over, I’m still a bit confused. It wasn’t until I went home and watched 10 YouTube videos that I think I can say I know what swing is. There are just too many variations but all of them do have one thing in common: Swing is not gracious or elegant at all, but everyone participating looks like they’re having fun. Two leassons I took away from this class was that swing music is in two beats and during the slower movements is when all the action happens. Secondly, I learned how I am supposed lead, which is hard to do when you don’t actually know what you’re doing.

This made me really think about how often we look at performers or technically skilled people and forget that they had to start by learning the alphabet at some point in their lives. The world’s most famous cardiologist once had to learn what a heart is. The world’s best pianist once had to learn what a chord is. The world’s best swing dancer, once had to learn exactly what I was being taught. Like the basic elements of a periodic table, once you learn the basic elements of dance or any subject, you can begin to build on them and create new compounding moves. But first, we have to have the patience to consistently practice things that we may find to be lacking in gratification. If we’re willing to dedicate our time to anything we want in life, I feel we are guaranteed to obtain it. Just don’t tell me “Ain’t nobody got time for that.”

 

tefbw

Leave a Reply

