“I life my life under the notion that at any second, any instant, my life can completely change.” – Jaymes

I was chatting with my friend about life and he threw this quote at me. Though I’ve never looked at life in this manner, I can say this. I am a firm believer that even if you are not where you want to be, keep doing the things you need to do and you will eventually get there. Don’t be discouraged because all it takes is one event, one person, one transaction, one phone call, one anything and your life could suddenly be different.

A lot happened this week that really made me think about this idea. One of my friends was on the brink of experiencing what he thought to be the worst moments of his life. He decided to take a risk and the situation turned out to be one of the happiest days of his life, in an instant. Life is a series of decisions after decisions. Not all of them will be right, some will be wrong. If it can be fixed, find the solution. If it cannot, what’s the point of fretting about it? Accept it, Learn from it, and move forward. So long as you learn something, I do not feel anything is ever a failure.

“I have not failed. I have just found 10,000 ways that won’t work.” – Thomas Edison

One of my favorite ted talks is from Mel Robbins. I got the opportunity to see her live last year as well and she is a ball of energy. 1/3 of Americans feel dissatisfied with their lives. All day long we have ideas that could change the world, that could change people, that could change our life and what do we do with them? Nothing.

Activation Energy – The energy it takes to make you go from what you are doing into a new action.

It’s simple to get you want, but not easy. You have to force yourself. Your brain runs on two functions, auto pilot and emergency break. Whenever you step into something new your brain puts on the breaks to assess the situation. Whenever we have an impulse, if we don’t take the action within 5 seconds, then our brain is going to pull the emergency breaks and the idea will be killed. Take action, change your life.

tryjumping

Leave a Reply

