Just wake up

4AM. The magic hour. Night owls have gone to bed, the morning joggers have not yet woken up. It’s a serene period and as cars drive by, you wonder, why are they awake? I have always valued time and the need to be productive but I have never been able to become the 4AM man. I appreciate the few times I am awake at this time because it feels like a scene from the twilight zone. If you want to feel like a different person, start waking up at this time. I have realized that to make my own life work, I will have to start my day at this time. I have always had goals and when the dead line approaches, my actual accomplishments often fall a little short of my set goals. Although I’ve become a better person in reaching for my goals, there is much more to be done. The one constant in life is change. Who you are is transient. 1 year, 5 years, 10 years from now, you won’t be who you are at this moment. In fact, the present doesn’t even exist – only the past and the future. When you finish processing a thought or event, it has already occurred and passed. When you are looking at something, the time it took the light to hit your eye, the object is now a little bit different than when you perceive it. Changes made now will compound into differences in the future. Like the butterfly effect, the flap of a butterflies’ wings can cause tsunamis on the other side of the world, the small act of waking up a little bit earlier will reap compounding differences in your overall being.

“I’ve always figured out that there 24 hours a day. You sleep six hours and have 18 hours left. Now, I know there are some of you out there that say well, wait a minute, I sleep eight hours or nine hours. Well, then, just sleep faster, I would recommend.” -Arnold Schwarzenegger

 

ga031125

 

 

Leave a Reply

