Try something new

What makes something remarkable? Something that is worth remarking about. The thing that’s going to decide what gets talked about, what gets done, what gets changed, what gets purchased and what gets built.

Imagine you are driving on the road and you see a cow on the side of the road. You might look for a second but you continue driving because, well, cows are not unusual. But if that same cow was purple. Suddenly, it holds your gaze a little longer and you might even remark on it. It’s novel, it’s different.

What is remarkable, is new. I think it is very important to get involved with new experiences. Bombard the brain with new experiences because those are the opportunities for growth. Scientists have found that learning something new can release a similar amount of dopamine as taking drugs. You can “get high” from learning. Embrace new experiences. The brain is an old machine and it’s main job is to conserve energy. And the way it achieves this, is through short cuts. The more you feed into the brain, the more your mind is able to look at the world through a new lens. Sometimes that just means getting outside of your office. Going out experiencing new events, new places, new eats, new people. In order to force the brain to see things differently, you must find new and novel ways to help the brain perceive information differently. The brain must be provided with something that it has never before processed to force it out of predictable perceptions.

“You can tell the size of a man by the size of the problem that has got him down”

-Eric Worre

This past weekend, I competed in a Toastmaster’s humor speech competition. It was my first time competing and I must’ve hatched a hundred butterflies for the occasion. I was nervous. It was an experience I was elated that I took part in and really gave me a lens into a new world. It allowed me to realize how many things I didn’t even know I didn’t know. There are so many things that I know I don’t know, like how to solve world peace, a safe way to get rid of toxic waste, global warming, but I digress. This recognition helped me grasp that there is even more that I don’t know I don’t know. The world is such a huge and wonderful place. Go out and experience it.

Leave a Reply

