What’s the problem?

“If I had an hour to solve a problem I’d spend 55 minutes thinking about the problem and 5 minutes thinking about solutions.” -Albert Einstein

It is questioned if Einstein actually said this. I have some doubts about many question like this and the famous Thomas Jefferson quote “How the heck does twitter expect me to fit the declaration of independence in 140 characters? #FoundingFatherProblems”

Though Einstein may not have said the quote, the idea is interesting. If you take the majority of the time to define what the problem is, then you can begin to spend time solving the problem. You cannot know the solution without first understanding the problem. Today I had a communication issue with someone. I thought the problem was odd so I asked about it and received backlash. I worded my question incorrectly to make that person feel like I was questioning them. Going forward, I will ask questions accordingly. Always remember, what result you want from the situation. Is it better to be right or is it better to be happy? Even if it means being wrong, being happy is better than dealing with an unpleasant situation. The majority of people are stubborn, they will usually stick to their guns even after realizing they are wrong. Find the problem, find an appropriate solution, move on.

 

365cc7d1660579cb8156516753e35c8d

Leave a Reply

